Skip to main content

Manage decision table versions

Genesys Cloud maintains previous versions of a decision table and lets you create snapshots of configurations that you want to preserve. From the decision table version history, you can review previous configurations, roll back to a previous version or snapshot, or use one to create a new draft.

Decision table version management provides two types of retained configurations:

  • Superseded versions – Allows you to view and restore previously published decision tables from any existing version. 
  • Snapshots – Allows you to manually store versions of decisions tables that you can retain for future reference or recovery.

View and rollback a published decision table

  1. Click Menu > Orchestration > Rule-Based Decisions > Decision Tables.
  2. Select a decision table.
  3. Click Version history. The version history displays the current published version, the rules schema used, superseded versions, and saved snapshots. Genesys Cloud retains up to 10 superseded versions and 30 snapshots of a decision table.Version history of a published decision table
  4. Select a version to view its decision table configuration.
  5. To restore a superseded version or snapshot, click Rollback.
    Note: Rollback applies to the entire decision table. You cannot roll back individual rows or rules.

    Rollback a decision table
  6. Add the reason for rollback, review, and confirm the rollback. When you roll back a version, Genesys Cloud publishes the selected decision table and its associated schema version. Rollback does not create a new decision table version or change the version number.

Save a snapshot of a published decision table

Create a snapshot when you want to preserve a decision table configuration before making significant changes.

  1. From the Versions tab, open the superseded version that you want to preserve. Alternatively, you can also create a snapshot from a published decision table. For more information, see .
  2. Click Save Snapshot. Decision table snapshot
  3. Enter a name and, optionally, notes that describe the purpose of the snapshot.
  4. Save the snapshot.

You can create snapshots from published and superseded versions. Genesys Cloud supports up to 30 snapshots per decision table by default.

Note: When you delete a saved snapshot, that specific version of the decision table is permanently removed from the decision table version list. It is not moved to the superseded version list. This action cannot be undone. 

Create a new version of a published decision table

You can create a new version of a draft decision from a superseded version or a snapshot. Rollback and creating a new version have different results.

  • The Rollback option restores the selected decision table and its original schema-version combination for execution.
  • The Create new version option uses the rules from the selected version as the basis for a new draft and associates the draft with the latest schema version.

To create a new version from a published version:

  1. From the Versions tab, open the superseded version of which you need a new version.
  2. Click Preview, and click Create new version.
    Note: The new version uses the latest rules schema version.
  3. If necessary, make any changes, and click Publish
    A new version of the same decision table is now created and published.
Notes:
  • You cannot create a new version when a draft version exists. Delete the draft version before you create a new version.
  • Publishing a new version creates a new superseded version of the decision table. Genesys Cloud prompts you to delete one of the older versions if publishing the new version would exceed the limit of allowed superseded versions. Genesys Cloud presents the following choices: you can either automatically delete the oldest version, or manually choose a specific version to delete. When you choose to delete a version manually, you cannot delete the latest published version or the superseded version with the highest version number. All other older versions are available for deletion.

Create a new decision table using a published decision table version

You can create a new decision table from any superseded version of a published decision table. This creates a new decision table using the latest schema, combined with the rules that were published as part of the version you selected. For example, suppose that a published decision table is currently at version 35, and you want to create a new decision table from version 30. When you copy the decision table from superseded version 30, a new draft decision table is created using the latest rules schema version and the rules of version 30.

  1. From the Versions tab, open the superseded version or the snapshot that you want to preserve.
  2. Click Copy Decision Table. A new draft decision table is created. Manually publish the decision table.
    Note: The new decision table uses the latest rules schema version.

    Create decision table draft from a superseded version or a snapshot